At the heart of the Regional Natural Park of Luberon, this charming village offers multiple facets. Ramparts, towers doors, its belfry or dungeon. So many places to discover at the whim of a stroll in the old village, which was chosen as the setting for the film "The Horseman on the Roof."
Cucuron is a Provencal village of 2000 inhabitants. Boasting 300 days of sunshine a year, this is a wonderful starting point to explore the Luberon South Side.
Key dates in the history of Cucuron.
An important prehistoric occupation is known Cucuron. The origin of its name is due to the geographical location of the place, built on both nipples (in Celtic), "CUC = nipple."
In Roman times, large agricultural settlements occupied the entire territory of Cucuron. The occupation of the Middle Ages is located outside of the current urban area (999), the Castellas and Guet. The village of Cucuron date of 1004. It was then located on the hill St Michel, the "castrum".
In the thirteenth century the village grows, extends outside the walls and the Notre-Dame de Beaulieu became the parish church. Over the following centuries, the population of Cucuron increases and reaches, in 1719, 3000 inhabitants. The plague of 1720 destroyed a third of the population.
The rural exodus and the war of 1914 accentuated the depopulation of the village.
Since the 60s, the village attracts new residents and more and more visitors thanks to its quality of life.
The surrounding curiosity La Chapelle Notre-Dame de Beauvoir (or Ermitage)