Download the map of Peypin d’Aigues (only in French) not to miss anything.
Pines are everywhere!
Peypin d’Aigues differs by its architectural richness of its stone hamlets and by the area of its forest massif from where several torrents come down.
Rest on its lovely Place of the Fountain, then enjoy the coolness of its botanic path for a “nature walk”.
The village is encircled by three hamlets:
- Hamlet of Fonzillouse (or Fontjoyeuse).
- Hamlet of Notre Done.
- Hamlet of Roux.
The residents are called “peypinois”.
- The botanic path;
- The sacred architecture of the church of Saint Jérôme;
- The Protestant Temple of the XIXth century.
The first Peypin is not at the location the current village but 1km away at the North-West, on the hillock of Castelas (the word “castellas” testifies the existence of a castle protecting the village), built belatedly (end of XIIth century or beginning of XIIIth century). An act of 1400 notices the abandonment and the ruin of "Peypin du Castelas".
The second Peypin arises in 1505 from the wishes of the Baron of La Tour d’Aigues who wants to revivify his lands and offer lands to build for the colonists. The Lord of Peypin d’Aigues, Antoine René de Bolliers, passed a "act of housing" with 15 Vaudois families to repopulate the territory and put back lands in value.
Then, it is the massacre by Meynier of Oppede in 1545 who, by the troops of captain Polin, is going to plunder and to set on fire the village. François the 1rst permits the troops of the parliament of Provence massacre the Vaudois of Luberon. Peypin d’Aigues is burnt, part of its villagers is killed, many are sent to the galleys. The Vaudois become Protestant. In 1582, the priest of Peypin d’Aigues counts 90 Catholics and so many Reformed. Even the church of Saint Jérôme, property of the Chapter of the Cathedral of Saint-Sauveur in Aix, was destroyed. The canons reconstruct it in 1620.
Peypin suffers another pain with the banishment of the Huguenots. One century later their goods will be seized and gave to Catholics.
On the last census, there were 614 inhabitants in Peypin d’Aigues.
1. The Temple of XIXth Century and its Memorial
A land is bought by the commune thanks to a subscription of the Protestants of Peypin. The construction begins only in 1867, with the help of the governmental subsidies and a subscription open to population who goes past widely the Protestant community of Peypin d’Aigues. Lyon and Orange participate in it.
Around 1975, in state of disrepair further to a prolonged closure, the temple is restored with the help of the Park of Luberon. In accord with the council of the presbyter, it is disused. It can serve as a multi-purpose room for the cultural events of the village. Nevertheless, this monument remains at the disposition of the Protestants for their religious events.
Symmetrical façade, pinnacle turret of rural chapel. Until 1866, the Protestant community of Peypin d’Aigues attended cult in the Temple of La Motte d’Aigues. Find the historic plaque of the Protestants of Peypin on the façade on the monument.
2. The Crossroad
At the intersection of 4 roads: Christ in cast iron, at its feet the attributes of the Passion.
Real beacons, crosses mark locations chosen according to the role that they have to fill and are indicated by various specific words:
- Here it is the Cross of the road,
- Cross of pilgrim, lining the paths leading to chapels and hermitages,
- Cross of Justice on the main place of the village,
- Cross of cemetery,
- Cross of bridges,
- Cross of Rogations, where one goes for the benediction of the land and the culture,
- Cross of boundary, limiting the parishes or the domains of an abbey,
- Commemorative cross.
3. Saint Jérôme Church
Built in 1626, replacing the former parish that fell in ruin and that was located away from the village. It is a company of Pertuis that built the monument, the Catholics gave the materials. After the forced conversion of the Protestants in 1685, the building suffered no modification. Next to the church, they settled the cemetery which will be enlarged in 1687.
The monument is with a unique nave and separated by a triumphal arch. In 2011 the village restored the picture preserved in the church which represents Saint Jérôme in the desert with the appearance of an angel playing the trumpet (XVIIth-beginning of XVIIIth century).
4. Fountain Square
Round fountain with unfinished central column dating to 1832.
5. The Washhouse
6. The Botanic Path of the “Vallon des Hermitans”
Take the shady botanic path of Peypin d’Aigues to discover a Mediterranean vegetation: scrublands, pubescent oaks and wet environment. Enjoy a refreshing and enriching walk right in the heart of the village...
7. Fontjoyeuse or Fonzillouze
This hamlet was formed in the XVIth century and was not really transformed since. The absence of relief allowed to establish regular and rectangular plots of land. It was the meeting place of the magistrates of Peypin and Saint Martin de la Brasque who held meetings to discuss questions common to both villages.
The architecture is characterized by numerous archways, houses with loggias and exterior staircases, but also by the high density of houses that confers its real personality.
"Peypin is a charming and authentic village surrounded by three hamlet and forests."
In the country, Village centre, Lake 5 km away, View over the vineyards, Mountain view,
Geographic perimeter :